Babson Athletics Hosts 36th Annual President's Cup

Babson Athletics Hosts 36th Annual President's Cup

WALPOLE, Mass.—The Babson College Department of Athletics and Recreation held its 36th annual President's Cup Golf Tournament on Monday at Walpole Country Club. The event, which featured more than 100 golfers and 35 corporate sponsors, was held at Walpole C.C. for the second year in a row.

The foursome of Hall of Famer Rick Renwick '79, Michael McQuillan '79, Glenn Ricciardelli '79 and John Salvatore posted a one-shot victory with a total of 5-under par 66 in the bramble format. The group of Chris Warren '15, Mark Warren P'15, Dan Hurley and Jack Mahoney recorded the low net score of the day.

Chris Warren '15 and Rachel Oppenheimer won the men's and women's longest drive competitions, while Alex Brugger claimed the closest to the pin competition.

Another highlight of the day was the presentation of the Jon T. Barry Award to Jonathan Moll, who retired after 33 years at Babson, most recently as Vice President and General Counsel in December. The Barry Award, named in memory of Jon T. Barry '65, is presented each year to an alumnus or friend of the College who best exemplifies the qualities of enthusiasm, presence, involvement, loyalty, sense of humor, sportsmanship, support and volunteerism for Babson Athletics.

Moll, who played in is 22nd consecutive President's Cup on Monday, joins previous winners Rick Renwick '79, Bill Coyle, John Sciple '95, Aram Hintlian '74 M'75, Don Page P'83, Gloria Gutierrez Gaiter '87, former President Brian M. Barefoot '66 H'09 P'01, Chris "Doc" Troyanos, Carl Citron, Bob Kelly '81, former President Bill Glavin H'99, George Recck '82 M'84 and Ron and Virginia Masnicki P'97 '00.