Babson to Host NEBCA Division III Senior All-Star Game

Babson to Host NEBCA Division III Senior All-Star Game

April 19, 2007

BABSON PARK, Mass. - After a three-year absence the Division III New England Basketball Coaches Association has resurrected its Senior All-Star Game with all proceeds benefiting the Coaches vs. Cancer campaign. The game will be played at Babson's Staake Gymnasium this Sunday, April 22, at 5 p.m.

This year's event will feature some of the finest players in the region, including Dan Wheeler and Tim McLaughlin of Division III National Champions Amherst College and 2007 Josten's National Player of the Year Ryan Cain of WPI. There are many more stars (listed below) who have garnered All-America status as well as All-Region, All-Conference, and Conference Player of the Year Honors.

The rosters were selected by several committees made up of area college coaches and are being released by Stephen Brennan, the NEBCA Executive Secretary.

In addition to the All-Star Game, there will be a free clinic at 3:30 run by several of the games participants and area coaches along with raffles that include Boston Celtics memorabilia and a chance to take a half-court shot for $50,000.

Tickets will be sold at the following rates: Adults $10, Students $5 and children under 12 free. We encourage everyone to come out and support this worthy event.

- Representing the Little East, GNAC, Independents, NEWMAC and MASCAC
10  Kinsey Durgin, RIC 
11  Mike Parker, Eastern Conn. 
12  Ryan Cain, WPI 
12  Chad Pulkkinen, St. Joe's 
12  Brandon McCombs, Salem 
14  Anthony Pizzo, Springfield 
15  Derek Thompson, Bridgewater 
15  Chris Matte, Southern Vermont 
21  Alfredo Tovar, Emerson 
22  John Murphy, Suffolk 
30  Brian Zukowski, Wheaton 
32  Stephane Abelard, UMass-Dartmouth 
32  Steve Morris, Newbury 
34  Curtis Gadles, Westfield 
35  Tony Barros, UMASS-Boston 
40  Eric Downie, Salem 
41  David Sontag, Keene 
43  Rene Cheatham, Norwich 

Coaches: Mike Smiley, Babson and Adam Nelson, Suffolk 

AWAY TEAM - Representing the NESCAC, Commonwealth Coast and NAC
1   Jerry Logan, Gordon 
3   David Williams, Elms 
11  Andreas Vasiliu, Mount Ida 
13  Matt Grendal, Salve Regina 
14  David Shepherd, Tufts 
20  Tim McLaughlin, Amherst 
23  Kino Clarke, Trinity 
23  Kevin Bradley, Bowdoin 
23  Tyler Muzzy, Husson 
30  Brian Kumf, Tufts 
30  Bryan Gaine, Wentworth 
32  Pat Martin, Trinity 
33  Jason Harvey, Husson 
41  Dan Wheeler, Amherst 
50  Mike Sullivan, Endicott 

Coaches: Chris Cullinan, Wentworth and Jon Yeh, Eastern Nazarene