Babson Hosts 26th Annual President's Cup Golf Tournament

Babson Hosts 26th Annual President's Cup Golf Tournament

June 28, 2007


WELLESLEY, Mass. - The Babson College Athletic Department hosted its 26th annual President's Cup Golf Tournament at the beautiful Wellesley Country Club this past Monday, and the event once again proved to be one of the College's top fund-raising efforts.

More than 140 golfers participated in this year's tournament, which featured a record 30 sponsors, including Sodexho Food Services, Renewal By Anderson, and Coclin Associates Inc. The event was won by the foursome of Serge DeBari, Mike Driscoll '80 M'90, Donald Page P'83, and Jon Saniuk '84, as they edged out the group of Tim Mann, Bruce Figuera, Jeff Martin '85, and Jonathan Moll based on a card-off. The first place team based on net scoring consisted of Bob Kelly '81, Thomas Morganstern '80, Gary Newcomb '81, and David Ryan '81.

Another major highlight on Monday was the presentation of the Jon T. Barry Award to Chris "Doc" Troyanos. A longtime athletic trainer and a member of the Babson Athletics Hall of Fame, Troyanos was honored for not only his 25 years of service to the College, but also for his incredible work in planning, organizing, and running the President's Cup Tournament for many years. The award, named in memory of Jon T. Barry '65, is presented each year to an alumus or friend of the College who best exemplifies the qualities of enthusiasm, presence, involvement, loyalty, sense of humor, sportsmanship, support, and volunteerism for Babson Athletics. Troyanos joined previous winners Carl Citron, Bob Kelly '81, Bill Glavin H'99, and Ron and Virginia Masnicki P'97 '00, all of whom were in attendance.

Plans are already in the works for the 2008 President's Cup, which will once again be held at Wellesley CC. A tentative date of June 9 has been set for that event.