Babson Hosts 28th Annual President's Cup Golf Tournament

Babson Hosts 28th Annual President's Cup Golf Tournament

WELLESLEY, Mass. - The Babson College Athletic Department hosted its 28th annual President's Cup Golf Tournament at the beautiful Wellesley Country Club this past Monday, where the event proved once again to be a fantastic fund-raising effort for the department.

More than 110 golfers participated in this year's tournament, which featured 24 sponsors, including title sponsor Sodexo Food Services and Presidential sponsor Coclin Associates Inc. The event, which raised over $60,000 for the department, was won by the foursome of Tim Bertschman '90, Greg Bertschman, Joe Colelli '03, and Bill Stangel, who won their second straight title with a team score of 65 in the "shamble" format. The first place team based on net scoring consisted of Gloria Gaiter Gutierriez '87, Donald Gaiter, Sue O'Donnell '86 M91, and Michael DeFanti, who finished with a net total of 49.

Another major highlight on Monday was the presentation of the Jon T. Barry Award to Gloria Gaiter Gutierrez '87. A soccer, basketball, and softball alumna, Gutierrez has been an ardent supporter of Babson and its athletics program for over two decades. During that time, she has donated the Blinstrub locker room in Staake Gymnasium, served as a longtime member of the Board of Trustees, and volunteered as an assistant coach of the women's soccer team for 15 years.

The Barry Award, named in memory of Jon T. Barry '65, is presented each year to an alumus or friend of the College who best exemplifies the qualities of enthusiasm, presence, involvement, loyalty, sense of humor, sportsmanship, support, and volunteerism for Babson Athletics. Gutierrez now joins previous winners Chris "Doc" Troyanos, Carl Citron, Bob Kelly '81, Bill Glavin H'99, Ron and Virginia Masnicki P'97 '00, and former President and 2008 recipient Brian M. Barefoot '66 P'01, who was on hand to present the award at this year's reception.