Babson Honors Class of 2014 at 33rd Annual Senior Athletics Awards Banquet

Babson Honors Class of 2014 at 33rd Annual Senior Athletics Awards Banquet

BABSON PARK, Mass.—The Babson College Athletics Department held its 33rd Annual Senior Awards Banquet on Friday night where a total of eight individuals received honors. Director of Athletics and Recreation Josh MacArthur also announced the renaming of an award after 23-year assistant baseball coach and NCAA Faculty Athletics Representative (FAR) Dr. Norm Govoni.

Field hockey All-American Morgan Lockwood (Feeding Hills, Mass.) and men's soccer's Salvatore Percival (Andover, Mass.) were named Female and Male Athletes of the Class, respectively, while field hockey captain Julia Pochini (Acton, Mass.) received the Conlon Award, which is presented in honor of both Michael Conlon ’96 and Michelle Conlon ’94. Misha Beatty (Westwood, Mass.) of women’s lacrosse and baseball’s Matt Grenier (Rochester, N.H.) garnered Dr. Norm Govoni Scholar-Athletes of the Class.

In addition to the senior awards, Babson Provost and Vice President Dennis Hanno received the prestigious Paul C. Staake Award for outstanding contributions to Babson Athletics. A pair of first-year student-athletes were also honored as Kelsi McDougle (Hopedale, Mass.) from field hockey was given the Lori Vengrow Award, while men’s basketball’s Joey Flannery (Acton, Mass.) was named as the winner of the Colin “Chip” Brown award.

Lockwood was honored as the Female Athlete of the Class after become the first in program history to earn four consecutive first-team All-New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) and all-region accolades. A 2012 All-America selection, she leaves Babson as the program’s all-time leading scorer with 87 goals and 38 assists for 212 points. Lockwood garnered NEWMAC Rookie of the Year honors in 2010 while leading all first-year players in goals and points and helping the program to its first conference championship and a berth in the NCAA Tournament.

Percival was selected as the Male Athlete of the Class after a superb four-year career. He was a three-time All-NEWMAC selection and a two-time All-New England choice as a center back, helping the Green and White reach three NCAA Tournaments, including back-to-back Sweet 16 appearances in 2010 and 2011. Percival started 84 games and led the Beavers to three regular-season league titles, one tournament championship, and 56 victories during his time at Babson.

A four-year starter in field hockey and president of the Babson Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), the Conlon Award went to Pochini for her excellence in the areas of leadership, integrity, loyalty, academic excellence, and care for others. A three-time NEWMAC Academic All-Conference honoree, she had the finest season of her Babson career this past fall with a career-high 11 goals and 27 points, culminating with all-league and all-region honors.

The Dr. Norm Govoni Scholar-Athlete of the Class awards went to a pair of spring athletes, each of whom has established themselves as one of the top players in their respective program histories. A three-time first-team All-NEWMAC honoree and a two-time All-New England selection, Beatty ranks eighth all-time in scoring with 203 points and is one of only two players in program history to surpass the 200-point mark in just three seasons. A two-time NEWMAC Academic All-Conference recipient, she also finished 10th all-time in goals (148) and sixth in assists (55) while helping the Green and White to one regular-season conference title and three consecutive league tournament championship game appearances.

An all-conference selection and NEWMAC Academic All-Conference honoree in 2012, Grenier had the best season of his Babson career this spring, finishing 5-2 with a 2.16 ERA and four complete games. He ranks fifth all-time in wins (15), fourth in innings pitched (200 1/3), fourth in complete games (10) and 11th in earned run average (3.28). Grenier tossed at least seven innings in 23 of his 26 career starts for the Green and White.

Govoni, who is retiring from teaching this year after serving as a Babson faculty member for nearly 45 years, has spent the last 23 seasons with the baseball program. The driving force behind the Babson Athletics Hall of Fame, the professor of marketing continues to serve on the hall of fame committee in addition to being Babson's NCAA FAR. Baseball's home venue of Norman and Terry Govoni Field is named after Norm and his wife of 41 years, Terry, who passed away in January 2005. Govoni Field is renowned throughout New England as one of the finest baseball facilities in the region.

As part of a longstanding Babson tradition, the Senior Awards Banquet also included a pair of first-year award winners. McDougle was presented with the Lori Vengrow Award, which is given annually to a first-year female athlete that best represents the qualities of loyalty, selflessness, and a positive attitude. An integral part of the field hockey team’s success this past season, McDougle appeared in all 20 games, scoring three goals, including one game-winner, while consistently providing a major spark off the bench.

Flannery was the recipient of the Colin “Chip” Brown Award, given each year to a first-year male athlete that exhibits energy, spirit, enthusiasm, dedication and commitment to his team. After putting together one of the finest seasons in the history of the men’s basketball program, Flannery was named NEWMAC Rookie of the Year and Player of the Year, as well as the New England Rookie of the Year. His positive attitude, humility and team-first approach helped the Beavers make their first NCAA Tournament appearance since 2004.

Presented each year to a person or entity that shows outstanding support of Babson’s athletic programs, the Paul C. Staake award went to Hanno, who has been at the College since 2006. One of the most influential and respected figures in the Babson community, Hanno has had a significant impact on the success of the department and has consistently demonstrated a commitment of service for the betterment of Babson Athletics.