Babson Cross Country Archive

Program History
With more than two decades of history, the men's and women's cross-country programs have enjoyed great success at Babson. Between 1990 and 1996, the Beavers had 13 runners receive All-Conference honors, including all-time greats Eric Sullivan '94, Brian Dowd '97, and Babson Athletics Hall of Fame member Joey Curtis '92. Babson has also had three conference Runner of the Year recipients, one conference Rookie of the Year, seven All-ECAC honorees and four All-New England selections.

Among the team's more recently recognized runners are Chris Perry '04, who earned NEWMAC All-Conference recognition in each of his final two seasons, Lydia Halloran '05, who became the first woman in program history to earn All-NEWMAC honors in her senior season of 2004, and Charlotte Margel '13, who earned a pair of All-Conference honors and became the first female and second runner overall in Babson history to earn All-New England honors in 2010.

Led by Margel and current stars Marina Capalbo '15 and Mark Gulesian '15, the cross country program has recently ushered in a new era of excellence. Capalbo earned All-NEWMAC honors in 2012, while she and Gulesian both earned All-New England honors that same fall - marking the first time in program history that the Beavers boasted multiple All-Region honorees.

While the Babson harriers have received many honors for their efforts on the course, they have also established themselves as two of the country's most successful teams in the classroom. The men's team has received national Team Academic All-American honors in 14 of the last 17 seasons, while the women have garnered a Team Academic All-American selection 11 times in the last 20 years. In addition, the Beavers have had seven women and 13 men named to the Individual Academic All-America team since 1993.

Record Book

Previous Seasons' Results/News Releases and Statistics