2019 NCAA Tournament College World Series | 5 NCAA Tournaments | 7 Conference Championships

Arena, Noone Earn NEIBA Postseason Accolades

Arena, Noone Earn NEIBA Postseason Accolades

Arena Named to All-New England First Team, Noone Tabbed as NEIBA Coach of the Year

BABSON PARK, Mass.—Two members of the Babson College baseball program were recognized on Tuesday afternoon when the New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association (NEIBA), in conjunction with the American Baseball Coaches Association and Rawlings, released its all-region teams.

Junior Ryan Arena (Yorktown Heights, N.Y.) was named to the NEIBA and ABCA/Rawlings All-New England first team, while Matt Noone was selected as the NEIBA Division III Coach of the Year.

Arena put together some of the best power number in program history as he started 40 games and batted .331 with 12 doubles, 13 home runs, 34 runs scored and 36 runs batted in. He set a new single-season program record for homers, led the Beavers in slugging percentage (.682),  tied for the team lead in runs and finished second on the squad in RBI and walks (19).

A first-team New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) all-conference selection, Arena hit safely in 15 of Babson's final 17 games and drove in at least one run in 15 of the team's final 16 outings.

Noone was selected as the NEIBA Coach of the Year for the first time after leading the Green and White to a historic 2017 campaign. The Beavers won a school-record 29 games, captured a share of its first regular season conference title since 2012 and won its first NEWMAC Tournament championship since 2009.

Under Noone's guidance, Babson also set a new single-season record with 13 straight victories and reached the Harwich Regional final in its first NCAA Tournament appearance since 2009.

The Beavers, who finished 29-15 overall, closed the year with wins in 16 of their final 18 contests.