Men's Golf

11 NCAA Tournaments | 5 NEIGA Regional Titles | 13 Conference Championships

Men's Golf Rallies to Win NEIGA Championship

Men's Golf Rallies to Win NEIGA Championship

Bornhorst Shoots 73, Claims Medalist Honors on First Playoff Hole

BREWSTER, Mass.—First-year Chris Bornhorst (West Newton, Mass.) won medalist honors in a one-hole playoff and the Babson College men's golf team came from four shots back to win the 82nd annual NEIGA Championship at the Captains Course on Monday afternoon.

The Beavers posted a final-round total of 306 to finish seven shots clear of runner-up Husson with a 36-hole score of 617. First-round leader Nichols came in third at 633, while Tufts (635) and Western New England (635) tied for fourth place. The victory was the first for the Green and White at the NEIGA Championship since 2000.

Beginning the day two shots off the lead, Bornhorst carded a 1-over par 73 to finish with a two-day total of 4-over par 148 before defeating first-round leader Zachary Temple of Castleton on the first playoff hole. Junior Kyle Alexander (Brewer, Maine) shot a 79 on Monday to tie for ninth place at 10-over par 154, which was one shot better than first-year Martin Jensen (Bronxville, N.Y.), who closed with a 78 to finish 11th overall at 11-over par 155.

Junior Pranav Mohan (Fremont, Calif.) moved up 39 spots on the leaderboard with a final round 76 to tie for 27th place at 161 (+17), while classmate Ian Notkin (Caldwell, N.J.) carded an 80 on Monday to finish in a tie for 46th position with a 36-hole total of 164.

Babson will travel to Pinehurst in March before opening its spring tournament schedule in April.

•    The Beavers have now finished 1st, T-2nd and 2nd at the last three NEIGA Championships.
•    Babson won its last three events of the fall season and has finished no worse than sixth in any of its seven tournaments this season.
•    Bornhorst is the sixth Babson golfer to earn All-NEIGA honors since 2010.