Men's Golf

11 NCAA Tournaments | 5 NEIGA Regional Titles | 13 Conference Championships

Men's Golf Runs Away With Fourth Straight NECC Championship

Men's Golf Runs Away With Fourth Straight NECC Championship

WEST BOYLSTON, Mass.—The Babson College men's golf team posted a final round score of 301 on its way to capturing a fourth straight New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Tournament championship on Sunday afternoon at Wachusett Country Club.

The Beavers, who built 23-shot lead after round one, recorded a 36-hole total of 587 and finished 34 strokes ahead of second-place Springfield (621). Elms came in third with a two-day total of 654, while Dean (677) and Becker (687) rounded out the top five.

Sophomore Chris Bornhorst (West Newton, Mass.) followed up Saturday's 69 with a 2-over par 74 to earn NECC Golfer of the Year honors for the second year in a row with a 36-hole total of 1-under 143. First-year Reed Wilson (Redlands, Calif.) shot a final round 77 and came in second while also being named NECC Rookie of the Year with a 3-over total of 147.

Sophomore Martin Jensen (Bronxville, N.Y.) shot a 75 on Sunday and was named to the all-conference first team for the second year in a row after finishing at 4-over 148. Junior Lukas Linemayr (Hampton, N.H.) also closed with a 3-over 75 and earned All-NECC second-team honors by coming in sixth at 7-over par. First-year Lane Bohman (Chatham, Mass.) also joined him on the all-league second team with an 8-over total of 152.

In addition to capturing golfer and rookie of the year honors and placing all five players on the all-conference squads, Beavers' head coach Jeff Page was selected as the NECC Coach of the Year for the fourth season in a row.

Babson returns to action next Sunday when it travels to Hickory Ridge Golf Club for the first round of the Blazer Invitational beginning at 10 a.m.

• The Beavers' winning total of 587 is the lowest in NECC Championship history. The previous low total of 592 was also recorded by Babson at DW Field Golf Course in 2011.
• Babson placed all five players on the all-conference team for the second year in a row and third time in program history.
• Bornhorst's 3-under 69 on Saturday matched Vijay Vasandani for the Beavers' lowest round in NECC Tournament history. Vasandani's 69 came in the first round of the 2013 championship at Wedgewood Country Club.
• Bornhorst is the first Babson player to win back-to-back NECC Golfer of the Year awards since Joe Young '12 in 2010 and 2011.
• With Wilson and Bohman garnering all-conference honors for the first time, 10 players on the Babson roster have earned All-NECC accolades over the last four years.