Men's Lacrosse

1 NCAA Tournament | 3 Conference Championships

Program History

Begun in 1967, the Babson men's lacrosse program has enjoyed great success throughout its storied history. The team has finished at .500 or better 28 times, including 14 years with 10 or more victories.

Following a decade of struggles in the program's infancy, Babson's rise to regional and national prominence began in the late 1970s. In 1978, the Beavers went 10-2 overall while holding their opponents to just 50 goals in 12 games. One year later, Babson finished at 12-2 and earned the program's first-ever bid to the NCAA Division III Tournament. Another 10-2 mark in 1980 gave the team an incredible 32-6 record over a three-year span. The team's stars during this stretch included Athletics Hall of Famer Chris Grant '81, who graduated as the program's all-time leader in points and assists, Jay Conroy '81, the team's all-time leading goal scorer at the time of his graduation, and Athletics Hall of Famer Bryan Lynch '79, who is to-date the program's only All-American selection after he received the honor in his senior season.

After enjoying moderate success in the early 1980s, Babson re-emerged as a regional power late in the decade, going 11-3 in 1987. The Beavers then rattled off seven consecutive winning seasons beginning in 1989, culminating in a 10-4 campaign in 1995. The team would win 12 more games in 1997 and 10 the following year on its way to a .607 winning percentage for the decade.

Babson has continued its dominance over the last decade, setting a new program record with 13 wins and earning a bid to the ECAC Tournament in 2001. After posting 11 more victories and gaining its second straight ECAC berth in 2002, the Beavers erupted for a historic season the following year. The squad finished with an 11-5 record, claimed the top seed in the ECAC Tournament, and capped off its spectacular season with the program's first-ever ECAC Championship. Babson then won nine more games and earned its fourth straight ECAC berth in 2004.

The current decade has seen the Beavers post four straight 10-win seasons, as well as the program's first trip to the Pilgrim League championship game in 10 years in 2011 and a return trip to the title game in 2013. The team's top star during this run was Alex Patinkin '13, who snapped Grant's 32-year points record by finishing his career as the program's new all-time leader with 239 points. He is currently the only player in team history to surpass both 100 goals and 100 assists.

Record Book

Yearly History
Career Scoring Leaders
Single-Season Scoring Leaders
• Career Goalkeeping Leaders
• Single-Season Goalkeeping Leaders
• Team Records


Regional Awards
Conference Awards

All-Time Results

NCAA Tournament
Conference Tournament
• All-time Opponent History
• Record vs. Opponents (by Year)
• Record vs. Opponents (by Team)

Previous Seasons' Results/News Releases and Statistics