Men's Cross Country

3 All-Region Selections | 21 All-Conference Honors

NEWMAC Cross Country Championships Preview

NEWMAC Cross Country Championships Preview

Cross Country at the NEWMAC Championships
Sunday, October 29—11 a.m. (M) | 12 p.m. (W)
Franklin Park—Boston, Mass.

The 2017 NEWMAC men's and women's cross country championships return to Franklin Park for the first time in two years on Sunday. The men's 8k race begins at 11 a.m., which will be followed by the women's 5k race at 12 p.m.

The Green and White posted a third-place result in the men's race and finished 17th in the women's race at the Codfish Bowl at Franklin Park on September 24, 2016. Junior Matthew Dynan and senior Scott Atwood placed fifth and 20th, respectively, in the men's 8k meet, while junior Chaela Hood came in 38th on the women's 5k course.

Dynan came in fourth to record the program's best individual showing in NEWMAC history as the men came in third for the first time since 2002 in last year's league meet at Smith. Seniors John Decker and Jonathan Miller came in 22nd and 26th, respectively, for the Beavers. Hood finished 41st in the women's race as the Green and White recorded an 11th-place showing as a team.

The Beavers are coming off a 16th place finish in their first 6k meet of the year at Connecticut College back on October 14. Sophomore Stephanie Rodriguez came in 59th with a time of 24:12, while Hood placed 108th by crossing the finish line in a time of 25:03. Rodriguez, Hood and senior Melanie Plattner have posted Babson's top three times at each of its three previous 5k meets this fall. Hood and Plattner are also two of just five runners on the team that have competed at Franklin Park.

The Green and White enters Sunday's meet coming off an eight-place showing at the Connecticut College Invitational on October 14. Dynan came in eighth and Decker posted a 23rd-place result for the Beavers, who have finished in the top half of all five meets this fall. Dynan, who is looking to become the program's first two-time all-conference honoree since 2003, and Decker boast Babson's top average times, while Miller, Atwood and fellow seniors Ryan Colaco and Jonathan Martin are hoping to lead the Beavers to a second consecutive top-three finish for the first time in the NEWMAC era.

On the women's side, second-ranked MIT has won 10 consecutive titles, while Wellesley has finished as the runner-up in eight straight years going back to 2009. WPI entered the national rankings at No. 31 two weeks ago and will look to improve upon last years' fifth-place showing. The MIT men, which enter the weekend ranked 12th, have won all 19 of the previous conference meets. Regionally-ranked WPI came in second last year with seven harriers finishing inside the top 16.

Six members of the Babson cross country program were named to their respective NEWMAC Academic All-Conference squads on Thursday. Plattner, Miller and Martin were all honored for the third year in row, Hood and fellow junior Emily MacDonald were recognized for the second time, and sophomore Nicholas Virkler was named to the team for the first time in his career.

The Beavers have eight runners that will make both their first start at Franklin Park and their conference championship debut on Sunday, seven of which are on the women's squad.

Marina Capalbo '15 recorded the women's fastest time at Franklin Park and second fastest in school history by crossing the finish line in 18:37 at the 2013 NEWMAC Championship. The Beavers' best men's time on the Boston course was 26:19 by Chris Perry in the 2001 conference meet.