Men's Cross Country

3 All-Region Selections | 21 All-Conference Honors

Dynan, Decker Earn All-Conference Honors as Men Place Fourth at NEWMAC Championship

Dynan, Decker Earn All-Conference Honors as Men Place Fourth at NEWMAC Championship

BOSTON—Junior Matthew Dynan (Reading, Mass.) came in fourth and senior John Decker (Parkland, Fla.) finished 12th as the Babson College men's cross country team placed fourth at the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championship on Sunday morning at Franklin Park.

The Beavers, who had two runners earn all-conference honors in the same year for the first time since 2002, totaled 89 points. No. 12 MIT, which had nine of the top 12 finishers, captured its 20th consecutive NEWMAC title with 18 points. Regionally-ranked WPI finished second with 71 points, while Coast Guard Academy edged the Green and White for third place with 85 points.

Dynan, who came in fourth for the second year in a row, finished with a time of 25:48, which is the best in program history by a Babson runner at Franklin Park. He also became just the sixth harrier in school history to earn all-league honors in back-to-back seasons.

Decker's time of 26:13 was the best of his career in three conference meets, while first-year Zach Goldberg (Westford, Mass.) finished 27th overall with a time of 27:06. Senior Jonathan Miller (Westford, Mass.) came in 32nd with a time of 27:12, and sophomore Samir Arora (Fremont, Calif.) placed 48th with a time of 28:12.

Junior Austin Henry (Egg Harbor Township, N.J.) was 51st with a time of 28:18, senior Ryan Colaco (Danville, Calif.) came in 59th in 28:49, and classmate Scott Atwood (West Newbury, Mass.) finished 68th in a time of 30:03.

Babson returns to action on Saturday, November 11, when it travels to Maine for the NCAA New England Championship.

• The Beavers' 89 points in Sunday's meet are the program's lowest total in the NEWMAC era, which dates back to 1998.
• Prior to Sunday, Babson's fastest time by a men's runner on the Franklin Park Course was 26:19 by Chris Perry '02 in 2001. This time was bettered by both Dynan and Decker.
• The Green and White has finished fourth or higher at the league meet in each of the last three seasons.