Field Hockey

2016 NCAA Tournament Final Four | 5 NCAA Tournaments | 2 Conference Championships

Field Hockey's Ryan Named NFHCA President

Field Hockey's Ryan Named NFHCA President

GILBERT, Ariz.—Babson College head women's field hockey coach Julie Ryan was recently elected as president of the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) and will begin her two-year term immediately it was announced by the organization on Wednesday morning.

Ryan was selected to serve on the NFHCA Executive Board in 2015 and wrapped up a pair of two-year terms as 1st Vice-President back in December. In her previous role she chaired the awards and hall of fame committees, and played a key role in establishing the NFHCA Lifetime Achievement Award in 2019.

In addition to her work on the executive board, Ryan also has served on the NFHCA Coach of the Year and Senior Game committees, and the NCAA Regional Advisory Committee.

"I am thrilled at the opportunity to lead the NFHCA as the next president," commented Ryan. "I look forward to working with our outstanding Executive Board to bring thoughtful opportunities for personal growth, sport development, and new initiatives to our membership. It is an exciting time for our organization as we reestablish our vision and mission and I am ready to hit the ground running."

The winningest coach in program history, Ryan has guided Babson to eight regular season New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) regular season titles, two conference tournament championships and four NCAA Tournament appearances since taking over the program in 2007. The Beavers won a school-record 21 games and became the first women's team in Babson history to reach the Division III Final Four in 2016.

A six-time conference and two-time regional coach of the year honoree, Ryan boasts and overall record of 187-86 in 13 seasons at Babson. Her program is currently in the midst of its most successful stretch in school history having won 89 games while making three NCAA Tournament appearances and claiming five consecutive NEWMAC regular season titles since 2015.

Ryan takes over as NFHCA President for Andy Whitcomb of fellow NEWMAC member Mount Holyoke College.