2017 NCAA Tournament Super Regional | 4 NCAA Tournaments | 3 Conference Championships

NEWMAC Tournament Day One Preview: Softball vs. Wellesley

NEWMAC Tournament Day One Preview: Softball vs. Wellesley

NEWMAC Tournament | Game #2
Softball vs. Wellesley
Wednesday, May 1 | 2:30 p.m.
Briggs Field | Cambridge, Mass.

• Babson and Wellesley will meet for the 39th time in a series that dates back to 2005 in Wednesday's NEWMAC Tournament opener.
• The Beavers are 24-14 all-time against the Blue and have won seven of 10 games between the programs since 2016.

• The Beavers and Blue will meet for the eighth time in the conference playoffs on Tuesday. Babson has won four of the last five meetings and is 4-3 all-time against Wellesley in the NEWMAC Tournament.

• Junior Kendall Smith and first-year Marisa Hensch both homered in the top of the first and drove in two runs apiece to help Wellesley defeat the Beavers, 7-2, in the second game of a doubleheader on March 30 in Babson Park.
• Seniors Josephine Mares and Ashley Tango both singled and scored for Babson.

• Sophomore Jamie Hoffman went 3-for-4 with four RBI, while senior Alex Corrigan and first-year Isabel Aguilar both finished had two hits and drove in a run as the Beavers defeated Wellesley, 10-2, in the opening game of a twin bill on March 30.
• Sophomore Gen Brittingham recorded a two-run single for the Blue.

• Sixth-seeded Wellesley (11-15-2) ran its winning streak to four and punched its ticket to the NEWMAC Tournament for the first time since 2017 with an 11-6 win over Coast Guard last Wednesday.
• Sophomore Julianne Griffin homered, Brittingham and Smith both had three hits, and Hensch drove in three runs for the Blue, which finished with 26 hits in the two-game sweep of the Bears.
• Brittingham is batting .511 with 21 extra-base hits and 27 runs batted in, Smith is hitting .402 with seven doubles, two homers and 24 runs scored, and Hensch boasts a .379 average to go along with eight doubles, two home runs and 20 RBI.
• First-year Hayley Moniz is 4-5 with a 3.93 ERA in 67.2 innings, while senior Sydney Hopper has gone 4-7 with a 4.26 earned run average in 67.1 innings on the year.

• Third-seeded Babson (23-13) enters the tournament having won four straight games after rallying for a 3-2 win over UMass Boston in the back end of a doubleheader on Saturday.
• Mares doubled home the tying run and Tango drove her in with an RBI single in the bottom of the seventh as the Beavers, ranked seventh in the region, finished off a sweep of the Beacons.
• Mares is batting .441 with nine extra-base hits and 36 runs scored, junior Jacqueline Paul is hitting .406 with 14 doubles and 32 runs batted in, and Tango is up to .378 with seven doubles, four triples and 21 RBI.
• Junior Brooke Stock is 11-7 with a 2.67 ERA and 124 strikeouts in 115.1 innings, while classmate Katie Gademsky has gone 12-5 with a 3.08 ERA in 95.1 innings.

• The Green and White, which won three straight elimination games to capture its first conference title in over a decade in 2017, and lost in the winner-take-all final last season has gone 13-6 in postseason over the last two years.
• The record includes a 7-2 mark in elimination games and a 7-4 record in games decided by two runs or less.

• Mares is batting .353 (12-for-34) with a double, three RBI and five runs scored, while Paul is hitting .351 (13-for-37) with two doubles, a grand slam and 10 RBI in 11 conference tournament outings over the last two years.
• Stock has gone 4-1 with a 1.49 ERA and 39 strikeouts over 37.2 innings in six career NEWMAC playoff appearances.

• Head coach Dave Canan, who has led the Beavers to at least 23 wins in 13 of the last 16 seasons, enters the NEWMAC Tournament with 496 career victories.

• Mares has at least one hit in seven consecutive games, while Paul, Aguilar and junior Kayla Schinik have all reached base safely in six straight contests.

• Over their last 11 NEWMAC Tournament games, the Beavers have surrendered just 18 runs.

• The winner of Wednesday's opening round game will face second-seeded and 21st-ranked MIT at 4:30 p.m., while the loser will play an opponent to be determined on Friday at 10 a.m. at WPI.