Men's Tennis

1998 NCAA Individual National Champion | 3 NCAA Tournaments | 1 Conference Championship

Program History
Tennis has been a vital part of campus life throughout Babson's history, with the sport's popularity dating back to the founding of the institution in 1919. Initially played off campus at locations such as Riverside Park and the Wellesley Country Club, tennis later came home with the construction of the Farwell Courts in 1924. With varsity play beginning in 1947-48, Babson's men's tennis program has won over 300 matches, made a pair of NCAA Tournament appearances, and boasted an NCAA Division III National Singles Champion.

One of our most storied programs, tennis exploded onto the Babson scene all the way back to 1922, when school President George W. Coleman sparked interest in the sport by creating a campus-wide tournament involving both students and faculty. A year later, the tourney's popularity is a key factor in new tennis courts being constructed on campus.

Tennis Goes Varsity
Men's tennis' first known season of varsity competition came in 1947-48, when the team went 0-3-1. The following year, the team won all four of its matches under head coach Squire Burtis. The program would then enjoy moderate success over the next decade, led by stars such as future Athletics Hall of Famer Wally Pratt '55 M'56, who was Babson's top player four-year stretch in the mid-1950's.

After winning 25 matches over a four-year stretch from 1970-1973, Babson posted its highest win total to date by finishing 8-1 under coach Ralph Chambers in 1977-78. That would be the start of a six-year run in which the team finished above .500, as the program won 39 contests during that span.

The 1990's - An Era of Dominance
Babson rose to regional prominence in the 1990s, beginning with a 12-7 campaign in 1990-91 and a combined mark of 32-9 from 1994 to 1997. In 1996, Babson went 7-3, won its first Constitution Athletic Conference (CAC) championship, and placed first among Division III schools at the New England Intercollegiate Championship Tournament. One year later, the Beavers finished with an 11-1 mark - their best record ever - while earning the first NCAA Division III Tournament selection in team history.

In 1998, Dave Weisman '98 became Babson's first-ever national champion, as he won the NCAA Division III Singles Championship. It marked the second straight appearance in the national tourney for Weisman, who lost in the second round in 1997. Weisman was lated inducted into the Babson Athletics Hall of Fame in 2004.

The New Millennium
Following the arrival of new head coach Jim Berrigan in 1999-2000, Babson embarked on a new era of success. The Beavers won a program-record 13 contests in 2001 and then matched that mark in 2002 and 2004. In all three of those seasons, Babson also advanced to the finals of the NEWMAC Championship Tournament. The Beavers then recorded 11 more victories in 2005 for their fifth straight double-digit win campaign, and in 2008, they matched that 11-win mark and advanced to the NEWMAC Finals for the fourth time in eight seasons.

In 2009, Babson once again hit double figures in wins with 10 while earning the second seed in the conference tourney and reaching their fifth NEWMAC Championship match in nine years. Leading the charge was Alex Kamergorodsky '10, who became the program's first-ever NEWMAC Player of the Year after going 5-0 at number one singles. Three years later, Ramone Doyley '15 became the first player in program history to earn NEWMAC Rookie of the Year honors after tying for the team lead with nine singles wins, including six at the number one spot, in 2012.

Returning to the NCAA's
The 2013 season saw the men's tennis program make history by winning 11 matches and earning the team's second bid to the NCAA Tournament - this time as an at-large selection. The team was anchored by Roberto Perez '16, who won a team-high 10 singles matches to become the program's second straight NEWMAC Rookie of the Year honoree.

Record Book

Yearly History
• Career Wins Leaders
• Single-Season Wins Leaders


Regional Awards
Conference Awards

All-Time Results

NCAA Tournament
Conference Tournament
• All-time Opponent History
• Record vs. Opponents (by Year)
• Record vs. Opponents (by Team)

Previous Seasons' Results/News Releases and Statistics